I have decided that I am not going to follow the postcard into the style of Hinde idea. Why? Taking tourist and summer beach photos doesn’t inspire me at all.

So I have two ideas which I am going to pursue. I can make both series on the same day.

1 – The stories I’ve heard about York.

It was once legal for a man born within the Bar Walls to stab a Scotsmen in kilt.

The father of the lie. Constantine the Great lived in York when his father was the governor of the city. Constantine the Great was involved with the Council of Nicaea – which had a role in choosing which books to include in the bible.

A pregnant woman can ask a policeman for his helmet to take a wee in.

York is the most haunted city in the UK.

York has a different pub for everyday of the year.

The destruction of the Jewish community, burned to death in Clifford tower to cover the theft by a local lord.

I will need to research Clifford tower and the history of the Jewish community in York. I feel that ethnic cleansing is too much to portray as a story I have heard without checking the validity. It requires sensitivity.

My inspiration for this story has come from briefly looking at the work of Tom Hunter. I am considering taking photos of text, signs and notices around York and having them as the background and then blending the themed photos into them.

(Update 2 hours after original post:- I am not going to use the idea of the destruction of the Jewish community at Cliffords Tower in this series. The other ideas are more light hearted and I don’t feel this theme fits. I also don’t think one photo in a series of six gives the just attention that is merited. I would like to explore and research the history of the Jewish community in York in more depth later in the course or when I move on to the degree.

I will use the connection between Guy Fawkes and York instead.)

The second idea will be a collaboration based upon Johari’s window. A psychological tool designed by Joseph Luft and Harrington Ingham. It’s a tool for helping people to understand relationships. It explores what is:- known to self and others; known to self but not others; known to others but not self; unknown to self and others.

I will take a photo of a transition area in York that I have a connection with – known to self. Then turn around and take a photo of something I haven’t noticed before – unknown to self. And leave an envelope asking passers by to take a photo in the area of something they like in the area – known to others.

I like both ideas so I plan to take them both forward. I can then review which photos work best as a series.

I will be able to build upon the skills from 100 photos coursework with using manual mode, manual white balance and use of contact sheets. The transition photos will build upon the exercise from stillness and movement. I will also make use of techniques I developed in the light and shadow exercise coursework. I also feel that by photographing the things I haven’t seen before, and collaborating with others, will improve my skills in relation to looking and seeing. These skills are highlighted through the the Workflow coursework.

Reference

Luft, J and Ingham, H; 1955; The Johari Window Model; Online at http://www.selfawareness.org.uk/news/understanding-the-johari-window-model (accessed on 12/08/2017)

www.tomhunter.org (accessed on 12/08/2017)

4 thoughts on “Assignment One – Square Mile – Developing My Ideas

  1. Hi Richard This does look creative and I hope you enjoy doing it. The Johari Window theme is very interesting indeed. I shall be intrigued to see if you manage a photograph of a pregnant woman and a police person! Good luck! I am briefly back in circulation until the next influx of visitors/family. Living but 1/2 an hour from Eurotunnel makes us very popular in August as a stopover on the way to France! All the best Sarah

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

