I am going to include 8 taster photos from Northern Pride at the end of this blog.

There were some things that I had planned well for making photography at Northern Pride. I had taken a notepad and paper with me, which means I can now email people their photos, as I took down emails of those that wanted a copy of their photo. This is something that I will do more often at events in general. I had prepared my self to ask people if I could take their photos.

There is something really important that I have learned this weekend, if people have agreed to be photographed they are generally very comfortable in being directed as to where to stand. I did not ask people to pose, but I did move them around so that they did not have objects sticking out of their heads, where possible. It wasnt always possible as the event was very busy. Initially I didn’t feel comfortable with this, but as I became more relaxed then I stepped into the role.

I used continuous shooting mode, and I am glad that I did. People move, they close their eyes, the wind blows the hair across their faces, they talk to people and have weird expressions on their faces when doing so. Having used CS mode I managed to get some good photographs that may have been ruined by movement if I had only taken a single shot. In future I really need to step into the role of being the director of photography. Once you have asked, if people agree, then direct. Slow down and direct.

I made sure that I got photos of the Northern Pride Committee, Newcastle Council, The Lady Mayoress of Newcastle, the main stage sponsor, the security and the police. I believe that its important to demonstrate that I take high quality event photos that show off the organisers and supporters. This is also part of my long-term plan to become a professional events photographer.  Start as I mean to go on.

It would be sensible if I developed a contact card, although it isn’t completely necessary, if I have my pad and take people’s emails if they wish to have a copy that will suffice for now.

I have made a point of deleting photos of people from the march who were not happy to be around a camera. It’s impossible to ask individuals for consent in a large group – but I am not here to make people feel uncomfortable. So their photos are gone, as are others that would show people in a bad light. I don’t see my role as a sensor, but neither do I wish to hurt people who may have had too much to drink, or been caught with an expression that makes them look silly.

The Plan

I have completed two runs of evaluation and categorised photos into three sections.

Series – I am going to produce a series of 24 photos of my journey with Pride. I have selected around twice this many and they include Newcastle, before the march, the march, the venue, portraits and the event makers (organisers, supporters and sponsors).

I will have three pages on my website, one for the series, one for event makers and one for individuals and groups.

The individuals and groups page will contain a lot of photos. I am then going to use Twitter, local newspaper, pride tv, and LGBTQ lifestyle magazines to inform people that they are able to download any photo that they wish of themselves or the day without charge.

I will do similar with the event makers, but I will also use the internet to get e mails from organisations so that I can inform them that they can use my photos free of charge to promote themselves.

The Taster Photos

These are not the strongest photos that I took, I have kept those for the series, but I wanted to get some up here. I like to blog every day.

Northern Pride, Newcastle, July 2017

There are so many technical and creative reasons that I shouldnt like this photo, but I do. Its one of my favourites from Northern Pride. She was very photogenic and agreed for me to take other photos of her on the day, but I like this. It suggests a furtive glance to the camera, but it wasnt. She was engaged with the camera for half a minute or more, when the crowd werent in the way.

I look forward to the developing process, now that I have completed the evaluation, and feel free to let me know what you think works, and what doesn’t and why.

 

 

6 thoughts on “Northern Pride Taster Photos – What I Have Learned About Portrait Photography – How I will Publish These Photos

  1. Hi Richard I note this post and look forward to responding. I have major problems with WordPress running very slowly. Do you have any handy hints please? Many thanks Sarah

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Richard I have iPhone for a while but nil else! Our satellite broadband to the village is causing problems. Back in touch asap. Best Sarah

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I really admire your habit of blogging everyday. It reminds me of something I read somewhere – “One should develop a habit of reading and gaining knowledge of any kind everyday. It may be very small even. But we must go to bed wiser every night than we were that morning.” It kind of stuck with me. And seeing this from you now, It just fills me up with so much positivity. Its great work Richard and great going. I remember seeing your blog initially and I was so inspired and at the same time scared also if I could ever achieve the same. Kudos to you. This is a really happy album and fills me with positive vibes just by looking at it. Am sure you must have had great fun doing this. Keep up the good work and your spirit always.

    Like

    1. Thanks Archna.
      I have not been able to keep up with blogging every day, but it’s still frequent. It helps me to stay focused. And yes, it was a wonderful day. Thank you for the tiger and the leopard. Very much appreciated.

      Like

Leave a Reply

