I have now begun to take a series of images for one of my sociology projects on mental illness and mental health, and on the final stages of planning for my sociology project on social control and the media. I start my creative process through my daily practice of meditation where I get inspirational ideas. This leads to development of ideas and then I leave it alone. Over a period of weeks other thoughts and ideas add to and alter my original idea. I discuss my ideas with a friend then turn the idea into a plan using ITEP mapping and sketching. The planning and sketching have become more important recently with studying Foundations in Photography with the Open College of the Arts.

I have two series of images where I need to have involvement with the public. I believe that consent is important where an individual is the main focal point of the photographs.  These two series I cannot do without public involvement and I get very anxious about asking people. However, I wish to develop as a photographer and artist so I will accept the anxiety is there, welcome it, observe it mindfully, and step into the role of photographer and director.

Leave a Reply

