I have previously used my student blog to describe my process of evaluating my photography. Although in that post I was referring to the process that I use to evaluate enent photography, the same applies to all of my photographs.

“My process.

Evaluate photos on my camera – delete blurred, poor composition, partial shots (half a car), distractions, blurred sponsorship (I email and twitter participants and sponsors to promote my work).

Evaluate photos on Microsoft photo viewer. Same process as above but can check clarity and composition in closer detail.

Categorise photos into folders, in this instance, cars, sponsors, event.

Remove duplicates and keep the best overall, subject, composition, technical (Tudor method of evaluating photos –  https://youtu.be/WYcokY2Pgjk  – Christian Tudor http://academy-of-photography.com).” Richard Keys; 2017; Evaluating Event Photography – My Process; https://photosociology.wordpress.com/2017/06/12/evaluating-event-photography-my-process/ (accessed on 04/07/2017)

In the above quote I talk about removing photographs with “blurred sponsorship” as the original post was in relation to event photography. However the same process is followed in regard to any brief that I follow. That may be in relation to a Foundations in Photography exercise or on any project that I am personally undertaking.

There are also many occasions that I develop a photo in Lightroom or Photoshop, then return to it a day or two later and then delete the photo. An image that I initially liked, may not fit in with what I wanted to create, once I have had time to return to it. I believe it’s too easy to retain images, because of the investment that I have made when creating photography. This is certainly something that I am getting better at. I understand the investment. I do not go and take a photo. I get an idea, I consider why that idea is important to me, what I want to represent. I may then make a formal or informal plan (photographic brief) of how I am going to achieve the result that I want. Then I go out with the intent of creating the image or series of images, and of course these may not be successful so I go out again and either reshoot from the same place, or go somewhere else, depending upon what I have learned from the mistakes of the first shoot.

I have improved my workflow as I have developed as a photographer, and often the time involved in evaluating my photography is longer than in taking and planning photographs, especially when it is event photography and I have made lots of images. I do get frustrated when I need to go and reshoot for a project that I am working on, and when I have developed an image and then do not think it is suitable for the brief. I would rather get it wrong and learn from my mistakes, than present an underpar image.

References

Keys R; 2017; Evaluating Event Photography – My Process; https://photosociology.wordpress.com/2017/06/12/evaluating-event-photography-my-process/ (accessed (04/07/2017)

Tudor C; https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WYcokY2Pgjk (accessed 04/07/2017) also http://academy-of-photography.com

 

Leave a Reply

