I am really enjoying studying. I haven’t studied for a while so a couple of things have helped me a lot.

 

Reading other students blogs. By reading the blogs of other students my concepts and creativity are becoming more flexible, open and dynamic. I follow blogs of non – photography students such as fine artists and writers and these have a positive impact upon how I think about photography.

The group email for Foundations in Photography is good for me, as I struggle with social contact. The group email means I can connect with fellow students. OCA have developed a positive student forum so that we can get the most out of our studies. ocastudent and the group email are excellent platforms for engagement. At this moment in my life attending a university in person wouldn’t be possible so I appreciate how OCA have developed the student platforms, it means I can get so much more from studying than what I expected from open learning.

I have my own photographic projects outside of my studies. The most important of these are my sociology projects. However I have been to a few events recently so sociology has been on the back burner. I have developed my events photos so I can refocus on sociology, and I am now reading the light and Shaddow project in Workflow.

My health comes first – sleep, eat, meditate, connect with friends. Then I do what I can. Recently it has been evaluating and developing photos, alongside getting out with my camera. Now I can re read my sociology project notes and FiP study material. When I have 15 minutes spare I listen to youtube – several photographers and lightroom/photoshop experts that I follow.

Since starting FiP I have had more creative ideas, started writing again and brought a violin. I’ve never played before and am enjoying learning. Creativity = bliss. Thankyou OCA.

Leave a Reply

