I have continued with my exploration of framing in photography (images at the bottom of the page), and I stumbled upon the thought “Why do humans like frames?”. Initially I considered that we live in a physically constructed world, and the boundaries of physicality – whether in architechture, fields, gardens, cars etc – means that we have to have frames. There is a truth to be had in that. But before I could sit down, have a cheese sandwhich, cup of tea and relax for the night, I began to explore our mental and emotional construction of frames, and why frames are so important to us.

An internal framework, belief system, ideology – gives us a defined (and changing) relationship to and with the world around us. Its how we make sense of, belong to or are excluded from elements of life. An individual frame of reference is rarely truly individual. I live in a world, a continent, a country, a county, a town, a neghbourhood, a street and a home. I may identify as being part of a larger collective culture, a subculture or a group, or many of these. My beliefs shape the group and the group shapes my beliefs, as an ever changing interacting relationship between subject, object or group. How we see ourself and the world creates a continuous and flowing frame, that we call “my life”. All of these interactions are frames.

My husband, my wife – a complimentary frame; My religion your religion – an oppositional frame; My field of wheat – a boundary frame; My neighbourhood – a collective frame; My green curtains, purple sofa, and lilac cushions – a contrasting and complimentary frame; My business in partnership with your business – a collaborative frame; My country has invaded your country – a conflictive frame; I say potato you say pot-ato – an oppositional/attractive frame.

Keywords:- opposition, attraction, collective, contrasting, conflicting, together, jointly, hostile, peaceful, calming, ours, yours, flowing, edgy, boundary, leader, assertive, passive, in relation to, coordinated, space, open, closed, restrictive, dialectic, large, distant, small, fore, middle, back, windows, beliefs, viewpoint, personal, impersonal, light, shadow.

 

Frame within frames

20170611_093017

Lavendar – foreground – soft framing providing some relief from the stark linear boundaries.

Sculpture – silver and blue – from foreground (right) to midground left – provides depth, shape and colour.

Sign – divided into three frames – context, information, division, left, right.

Windows and concrete – background – context, boundary, internal, external.

 

Contact sheet of other frame related images.

Lightroom (20170606_125647.jpg and 26 others)

 

Leave a Reply

