Being a photographer doesn’t limit me to learning only from photography. Composition, lighting, subject, object and balance can be studied by viewing art, sculpture, theatre and movies.

I can’t get out to a gallery at the moment because of managing health and prior commitments. But I can still observe, evaluate, critique, learn and develop.

Game of Thrones is amazing. Reading the books was a joy and I’m loving watching the box sets. One more series to go and then I’m ready for July. Bring it on.

But enough of the thrill of the story, where does it fit in to developing as a photographer?

White balance is new to me. I’ve been taking photos and then making use of lightroom to process my images. “But Richard” – I hear you say – “if you learn how to manipulate and use white balance you have more creative control in your camera”.

and that’s where game of thrones comes in. Game of Thrones is set across a vast continent – snow in the far north, seasonal inland areas, hot coastal cities and desserts. Scenes are shot outdoors, inside tents, in rooms with a mix of day light and candles, in vaults, cellars and temples with only candles for lighting (I’m beginning to see where additional lighting is used of screen too).

I’m starting to notice blue lighting, yellow lighting and white (bleach) lighting.

Today I saw series 5 episode 9 – the fighting pits in Mereen, and it made sense of what I had read about low saturation with high vibrance. The skin tones were natural and the colours quite muted but still observable. It created a natural scene in the arena where the subject (fighting in the pits) and the object (the fighters) were dominant.

 

I’ve also been evaluating and deleting photos from the airshow I went to last weekend. I took around 3000 photos and I’m having to be stricter with myself than I have been in the past. Is this a good quality photo? Will I really use this photo? Is this photo of a good enough quality to send to the subject? I often give photos to people. For example with the Tour de Yorkshire I sent photos to the teams and riders.

If it’s a no to any of those questions I make a quick mental note of why I’m rejecting the image and how I could have taken it differently.

 

Time to read then bed. Night.

Leave a Reply

