Coming to you live from underneath the tail of a Hawk fighter/trainer aircraft. Sitting out a thunderstorm at Durham Tees Airport.

There hasn’t been much flying today so I haven’t got many aircraft shots. I love airshows but I didn’t come here to photo them.

From a photography perspective it’s been a good day. I came here to experiment with zoom motion blur using a 10 stop ND filter. I saw some photos a couple of months ago, and was waiting for an opportunity to experiment.

I’ve had my shutter speeds slow so I could take photos of a motorbike stunt rider, releasing the shutter whilst already zooming in or out.

It’s been a lot of fun. I have a few images that I like. I chose not to bring my tripod as I was carrying two cameras and food, so I was aware that I would lose some photos because of hand shake. But 3 memory cards and spare batteries mean that not having the tripod was a compromise I could afford to take.

Feeling like a happy bunny.

Leave a Reply

